Deep Purple: Made In Japan (1973), my all-time favourite album

Made In Japan by Deep Purple

Made In Japan by Deep Purple

THE classic live album from a classic rock band. “What a rip-off!”, I thought to myself when I first saw this album, “a double album with only 7 tracks on it!”. And then the energy in those 7 songs (the shortest being about 7 minutes) blew my mind, melted my speakers and drove my Methodist church organist father nuts. This album was my first introduction to Deep Purple and I was hooked for life. And they are still around, much to my father’s surprise, and possibly their own as well.


One thought on “Deep Purple: Made In Japan (1973), my all-time favourite album

  1. I loved those early ’70s live doubles, and DP’s Made In Japan is up there with the Grand Funk “black album”, Rare Earth in Concert, Ten Years After Live, and Rory Gallagher Irish Tour.

Leave a Reply

